UW-Madison Tops the 2023 Vernon County Intercollegiate Dairy Judging Contest

The winning team at the 2023 Vernon County Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest. From left to right: Trent Olson, Coach, Emma Dorshorst, Jenna Gries, Sara Kronberg and Clarissa Ulness.

University of Wisconsin–Madison Team Cardinal, including team members Emma Dorshorst, Jenna Gries, Sara Kronberg, and Clarissa Ulness, won Top Overall Team honors at the Vernon County Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest, finishing ahead of the University of Minnesota by 32 points. The contest was held Sunday, September 17 at the Vernon County Fairgrounds in Viroqua, Wis. Emma Dorshorst won 2nd high individual, Sara Kronberg was the 3rd individual overall and Clarissa Ulness placed as the 6th individual. Lauren Breunig and Chloe LaCrosse also competed on UW-Madison’s Team White. Both teams were coached by Trent Olson and Brian Kelroy.

Additionally, the UW-Madison Team Cardinal was awarded the Top Oral Reasons Team. Top five oral reasons individuals were honored with monetary awards, courtesy of the James W. Crowley Dairy Extension Fund. The Top Oral Reasons Individual was Emma Dorshorst, with Sara Kronberg placing 4th.

The UW-Madison Team Cardinal was also the High Team in the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, and Guernsey breeds. Individually, Emma Dorshorst won High Individual in Brown Swiss, Guernseys, and Milking Shorthorns and was 2nd in Ayrshires. Sara Kronberg was 2nd in Brown Swiss, 3rd in Guernseys, and 4th in Ayrshires. Clarissa Ulness was 2nd in Jerseys, and Jenna Gries was 3rd in Ayrshires. Chloe LaCrosse was 3rd in Brown Swiss and Lauren Breunig was 4th in Holsteins, respectively.

Eleven teams traveled from seven states across the country to compete in the contest. These students from four- and two-year degree programs learn many life skills such as confidence, public speaking, critical thinking, logic, and good sportsmanship as they vie for top awards. The UW-Madison team’s participation was funded through the University of Wisconsin Foundation’s David P. Dickson Student Activity Fund.